Ticket to Write – 17

Dysmelodia In Email

This one was for – or to – or about – A. It is the only one for which I no longer have the original ticket.

dysmelodia_double

Are you so brusque
because I annoy you
& you are replying quickly
to make me go away
or is that how you always
have
always will
talk
& I never noticed
because the light in your eyes
the electric enthusiasm
in your voice
illuminate the words
make neon signwriting
out of serif newsprint
& turn ‘brusque’
into an art form
the art of economizing words?
Am I brusque?
Forgive me
if I do not reply for a while.
I am coming to terms
with the poverty
of the electronic word.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Real Life, Ticket to Write. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ticket to Write – 17

  1. Kirsty says:

    My new favourite. I really enjoyed this poem. WordPress wouldn’t let me post a comment, but here it is: I love the electric light, neon signwriting imagery. I thinking the structure is emotionally pitch perfect. A super wee poem!
    Keep up the scrawling!

    Like

  2. I dislike talking to people via electronics because you cannot see expressions. Sarcasm is lost in numerical computerized translation.

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

