Ticket to Write – 14

Thoughts On a Stub Someone Else Left In the Ticket Machine

thoughts_double

I wonder who you were.
Not are.
Not necessarily.  You may be
someone who never
ever
leaves their ticket half-torn
potential litter
a panting tongue between
the teeth of the machine.
But at 0758, at Stop 26,
there you were.
For all the world as though inspectors didn’t exist.
Were you tired? Were you in a hurry?
Will I ever know & does it matter?
No man is an island
(there I go, riffing off Donne,
as if a thousand better writers
haven’t already) but it seems
we are still very English: all
on one continent & yet
only the very adventurous
know what is down the river
over the ridge, OUTSIDE.
On the other hand,
who am I
putting $15 on my card
one minute later
and does that matter either?

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Real Life, Ticket to Write. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ticket to Write – 14

  1. xtianzionist says:

    I love reading your tickets to write – they let me ride the bus with you for a moment, eavesdrop on your conversation, observation, emotion. Then you let me off at my stop, pondering on what you’ve shown me, until the next bus arrives and the next ticket drops into my waiting hand. 143.

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

