Ticket to Write – 0

Hey’a. So. It has been an interesting… yeah, like month. Chris is still being annoying, the narrator is still nameless which has been fun, and I’m counting the days until my degree is over. Down to 42 so far. Which is not comforting because I have a royal crapton of stuff to do in those six weeks. Anyway, not super-conducive to getting real writing done! However, I have got back into my gosh-awful bus ticket poetry, and I’m certainly never going to do anything serious with it, so I’ll throw it on here and… eh, whatever.

I’ve put the whole set so far on skedder, so they’ll come up every other day. But before we begin, I have to explain a few things.

  1. what this was originally. I am congenitally incapable of working without a framework of rules.  I hadn’t written in months, and I was getting desperate. My rules were: I had to write a poem, about whatever I was thinking about at the time, on the ticket of every bus trip I took between January 9 and February 26, 2017. The entire poem had to fit on the ticket.  I had to include every poem in this collection.  But I did allow myself to edit while I was typing them out.
  2. what this is now. I got desperate again, and rebooted the series today. Same rules apply. I don’t know when I’ll stop.
  3. the content. Strange though it may seem, I was actually pretty sane for most of these.
  4. the slight inconsistencies. The images you’ll see are the back and front of the ticket for the original poem.  The text is what I’ve tidied up and sorted out the line breaks for.

And as usual, I have to thank a few people without whom this would not have happened.

  1. My mum the English teacher, for assuring me that free verse is still poetry, and reading every poem as it walked in the door.
  2. My dad, for subsidizing some of the tickets, and thinking of the title for the project.
  3. Walter (& Haelix!), for giving me the idea of do a collection.
  4. and A., because reasons, and for a few quotes here and there. (Maybe someday I’ll tell A. all about this, and what those reasons are. Maybe.)

Anyway. See y’all tomorrow for the LATE club prompt, and Thursday for the first poem!

Thanks for reading.
MTFBWY.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Real Life, Ticket to Write. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ticket to Write – 0

  1. This sounds remarkably and ironically familiar to me. I tend to write on whatever I can get my hands on and sometimes things turn up in the oddest places and I don’t remember how they ended up there. But bus ticket poetry–nice, girl! That’s pretty cool. (I’m really tired right now, if you can’t tell. Forgive the incoherent sentences.) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sarahtps says:

    This is a fascinating idea. I remember reading some of your bus ticket poetry when you put it in a LATE club post a while back. I’m looking forward to reading more of it soon!

    Also, congratulations on being almost done with your degree!

    Liked by 1 person

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

