Alderaan

Another Rasla sonnet, from the hard-drive cleanup – I had planned to post this when we wrote it, but apparently didn’t.  My regulars should be able to hazard a guess as to general time of composition.
The title has to do with the sub-constellation and connection to stars, as well as the planet.


A lone star wandering a plane destroyed,
Lost, anchorless, with no light but my own.
Oaths made to me forsworn, and duties void,
Now, forth, in darkness!  I find no way home.
Each whim of mine is filled before ‘tis thought:
I see; desire; receive; I may be bold.
Naught is denied me but my new lord’s heart.
All wealth he gives me – shall this numb my soul?
Through crystal panes I gaze on vistas fair,
Hills, river, sky – I see; may not be seen.
Rose-perfumed cells are cells; gold bars still bars;
Oh, caged, chained, now am I, who once flew free!
Ne’er more will come the light whose warmth I knew.
Grey years will pass, while, captive, grey I grow.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Fanfic: Star Wars, Original Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

