Fantasy Life Lessons Tag

february-fantasy-month-banner-1024x263

Jawohl.  Yeah, it’s March.  February was kinda sticky, sorry.

Cheers to sarahtps for the tag.

The rules:

  1. Must back-tag to the progenitor Jenelle Schmidt.  Did that, it’s in the picture at the top, I finally worked out how to turn pictures into links.
  2. Must use the image.
  3. Must tell five life lessons learned from reading fantasy books or watching fantasy movies.
  4. Must tag 2-4 people.

Well, I don’t pass tags on, because I’m not into the supercalifragilisticexistentialcrisis that that kicks off, so I’m ignoring Rule 4.  Life lessons, hey?  Ha.

I don’t read or watch a hua of a lot of fantasy, certainly not modern fantasy, so I’ll have to see what I can do. I don’t guarantee total absence of Who.

  1. People can screw with your head in ways you weren’t expecting, and watching out for it doesn’t help one iota, just makes you feel more of an idiot when you finally work it out.  From Isaac Asimov and James MacCreigh’s The Little Man on the Subway.”
  2. There’s only so much you can get wrong before the effects become irreversible.  As usual, you won’t know where the line is until you’ve crossed it.  From J. R. R. Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings”
  3. People will fail you.  People will always, always, always fail you.  Oh – and you’re part of people.  And the person you least want to hurt will be the person you let down hardest.  And there’s nothing you can do about it.  From Doctor Who, Tenth Doctor, “Doomsday”. (Yeah, I loved Rose.  Fight me.)
  4. Life does not make sense.  There is something deeply wrong with this, but there’s nothing you can do about that either.  From G. K. Chesterton’s “The Man Who Was Thursday”.
  5. Despite character dialogue in the book, the exposition is pretty clear. (Show don’t tell every time, kids.)  You do have to be someone special to make a difference.  Who is special and who is not is random chance.  From C. S. Lewis’ “Perelandra” and “That Hideous Strength”.

There.  Done.  I told you I wasn’t mad into fantasy.

Thanks for reading… and thanks for the tag, Sarah.
MTFBWY.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Author's Prerogative. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fantasy Life Lessons Tag

  1. sarahtps says:

    “Supercalifragilisticexistentialcrisis” is a fabulous word. Just saying.

    I love how you have such a vastly different perspective on this tag and the life lessons than most of the other people whose answers I’ve read. (I kind of expected you would, and I wanted to see what it would be; that’s why I tagged you.) By which I mean that most of us tend to focus more on the Unexpected Heroes and Greater Plan and Light Amidst Darkness side of fantasy, while you’re all “Look, life doesn’t make sense. People will hurt you and you will hurt people. Get used to it.” Which is good- we need both sides for a complete picture.

    Also, I think I need to move “The Man Who Was Thursday” up on my TBR list. It keeps popping up in unexpected places. Or at least I need to read something Chesterton on purpose, rather than because it popped up in a thing I was already reading . . .

    Like

    • Not mine, alas. Borrowed.
      I was having an entire day the way I have my coffee – hot, bitter, black, and largely forgotten is great on coffee, not so much on days – largely due to a sweet and charming small-town romance turning abruptly into a ghost story, waltzing away wearing Captain Jack’s coat, and expecting me to follow along. On an ordinary day I would probably have tried harder to be sweet and optimistic, but I didn’t feel like making the effort.
      I think it’s important to have heroes, but it’s equally important to realize that the reason you need ’em is because life is weird and dangerous and if there’s light and order you can’t see it… and sometimes you have to be your own hero.
      ‘Thursday’ is glorious, once you get used to the fact that it doesn’t make any sense at all and isn’t really pretending to. Oh, and it’s bright purple from beginning to end, that’s Chesterton for you. Picking a random chapter from ‘The Poet and the Lunatics’ is a good way to decide if you like Chesterton’s personal brand of chaos before you embark on a full novel.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sarahtps says:

        Borrowed from whom? Just curious.
        I’m sorry. That sounds rough. And I get why you didn’t feel like being cheerful; I wouldn’t either. I hope that today is a better day for you.
        That’s true. Perhaps more true than a lot of us like to admit, particularly about being your own hero. Being independent is nice, but it’s also nice to think that when it comes down to the wire, there’s someone greater than you to handle it.
        Thanks for the advice. I’ve read a few pieces by Chesterton in my high school literature classes, but those were probably his less unusual writings. (Also, what do you mean it’s purple? As in purple prose? Or something else?)

        Like

  2. “Supercalifragillisticexistentialcrisis” I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

