LATE Club – December ’16

LATE

HELLO EVERYONE AND HAPPY KRIFFING CHRISTMAS!!! Except it’s not yet, I know, I know, I’m being pre-emptive because everyone tends to Christmas harder at the people who aren’t terribly interested.  Like cats finding the one person in the room who is allergic and aggressively rubbing all over them.

Yah, so I flipped out and wrote this on the fifth because hahahahahaha I have American calendars for me personally but because of work I’ve been having to get used to NZ ones again, so I thought it was the twelfth.  When I have to deal with both systems for whatever reason, I usually keep getting confused up to about the thirteenth of the month.

Anyway that’s not what we’re here for today, it’s the thirteenth (and now it actually is) which means it’s LATE day.  And the prompt is Write some lists – ten things that are bothering you, and ten things you’re happy about, as they stand on the day you write the prompt.

Okey-doke.

Things that are bothering me:

  1. The prime minister resigned; this is a subversion of the principles of ‘democracy’ on which this country runs, because from now to October we’ll have a prime minister who was not elected.
  2. I forgot to practice my kata today and now it’s too dark out.
  3. Aaaaand I was going to work on the Littlest Muse’s story so I can finish up before the postal cutoff and I’m stuck between waka and Viking. (Sorry, Muse, I’m trying.)
  4. I’m not allowed to have a key to the lab I work in so I can’t be there on my own.
  5. Haven’t finished getting everyone’s Christmas presents yet, also busy agonizing over do you post Christmas cards within the same darn town or is that stupid?
  6. Um… Walter and Rachel and the IRL people will get this one… yes I know Dysprosium’s symbol is Dy now!
  7. I have no idea what I’m going to be doing this time next year. Admittedly that’s longer ahead than I usually plan, but eh, life.
  8. I’m trying to work out if 2016 really has been gosh-awful for the world at large or if I’m just reading the papers more.  Inconclusive so far.  Not a fan of inconclusive.
  9. Slightly disturbed that one of my samples appears to have about twice as much lead as the one it’s supposedly identical to.
  10. Supergirl has introduced a classically-attractive, long-haired, Latina, gender-conforming screwup stealing the name of Maggie Sawyer just to spin a gay storyline with a character who isn’t even supposed to exist. I like Maggie Sawyer; she was brilliant in Death & Return and even if she was gay then it was so, so not the big political deal it is in the TV series. (I’m not watching Superhurl anymore; and the real Maggie is an androgynous, short-haired, blonde-blue-eyed ‘All-American’ who dresses practically and does a man’s job better than the men and is fabulous.)

Things I’m happy about:

  1. I’ve got two new swords for practice, and a friend’s teaching me how to use them properly. It’s awesome.
  2. Bright sunny weather at the moment, so my watch-tan is returning. Summer Rosalie (blonder, fitter, and more tanned than Winter Rosalie) is coming back online.
  3. Afterglow of screaming delight from spending much of yesterday in a ’50s Jaguar and in close proximity to a hua of a lot of other classic cars including two Chevy Camaros and a metallic turquoise Sunbeam Rapier! And then watching Fast Five when I got home, so more epic cars.
  4. I totally may have a key to the lab I don’t have to work in so often, which is full of saws and electric drills and various maimery and I’m allowed to be there alone as much as I want, and I can usually have the key to the furnace lab as well.
  5. Haircut.  Finally went to a barber instead of a hairdresser and it was very good.
  6. Found the Russian literature section in the library.  (It’s LC call numbers PG3000 ish, if you’re wondering.)
  7. I can afford Absolut vodka if I want it and apparently I look old enough not to get carded. (That’s pretty good stuff, FYI, and stores are supposed to card anyone who looks under 25.)
  8. Found the mint-green velvet I thought I’d lost! Trying to decide what to do with it.
  9. Cosplay lightsaber almost working! Need to file down a bead for the switch and stitch the covering in.  Most of the ‘saber came from the plumbing department of the hardware store, but eh, it looks okay.  And I had to learn how to use an angle grinder.
  10. I passed all my courses for this year and managed not to disappoint anyone but myself, but I always disappointing myself so I’m kind of okay with it now.

This seemed like a good idea – most of us here are to some extent writers, and noticing things is what we do for a hobby, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to stop and deliberately notice for a minute.  There’s a Kurt Vonnegut quote in a book Walter gave me – “I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, if this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.”  Because when you do that, then somehow even stuff that’s pretty darn awesome already just gets better.

The prompt for next month – next year, wow – January 13 – is an idea I’m borrowing from Robert M. Pirsig’s Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – not as dodgy as it sounds, I promise, good read if you’ve got the patience – anyway.

Look around your desk or room, choose an item you can hold in the palm of your hand, and write about it until you run out of things to say or run out of time.

I just about guarantee you you’ll run out of time first.  This was his strategy for starting an essay – you get assigned ‘write about the town’, you freak out, you can’t think what to write.  Okay.  Write about the sign on the front of the greengrocers’ on Main Street.  If that’s too big, write about the first letter on the sign.  Keep going smaller until you can find something to say.  According to Pirsig, it works because it filters out anything you might have read previously, and any ideas you might have had about what’s important to write about, because those are what cause writer’s block – if you keep looking for important you’ll never write anything.

Thanks for reading – and what are you happy about today?
MTFBWY

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Life After Twenty Enclave. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to LATE Club – December ’16

  1. sarahtps says:

    Ok, curious: how does a NZ calendar differ from a US calendar such that you thought it was the 13th on the 5th? I’m confused. Also, I want to see your lightsaber when it’s done. (And I was slightly suspicious about the vodka thing until I remembered that NZ has a much lower drinking age than the States do. Though, I don’t know- you might be drinking age in the States as well.) And I find it amusing that you’re allowed keys to so many places containing potentially dangerous items . . . but, hey, at least if you need weapons on the fly and you can’t get to your two new swords (which I find very exciting), you know where to go instead.
    Finally, I don’t think that 2016 is particularly worse than other years; it’s just that the bad stuff got more coverage and the good stuff wasn’t as exciting.

    My post is actually up the day of, by the way! Here you are: https://tpssarahlightshadows.wordpress.com/2016/12/13/late-club-december-2016-today-lists/

    Like

    • US puts the month first, NZ puts the day first – December 13, 2016, on an NZ calendar, looks like 13/12/16, whereas on a US calendar it would be 12/13/16. (On the fifth I rather daftly looked at the first number, thought it was the twelfth, and didn’t go any further to realize that it was not in fact May.)
      Also absolutely yes you may see my lightsaber when it’s done. It’s just a static-prop, it doesn’t have a lit blade yet, but it does have a flashlight down the guts of it and that’s what the activation switch activates.
      Not quiiiiite old enough to be drinking in the States yet.
      And yay post!!!! Ooh, this is exciting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sarahtps says:

        Ahhhhh. I see how that would be quite confusing. Thanks for explaining.

        Yay! I remember reading about someone making a steampunk ‘saber about the same way- with a flashlight inside instead of a blade. It sounds very cool.

        Got it. nods

        Danke!

        Like

  2. Wait, how old are you and what’s the legal drinking age there?! I am Very Confused.

    Like

  3. Also how did you build your lightsaber? I’m trying to build a cosplay steampunk saberstaff which is based off of Rey’s staff…. yup. I’m crazy.
    Also, since they gave us Rey fighting with a staff before… REY WITH A FREAKING SABERSTAFF, KICKING BUTTS. MAKE IT HAPPEN, DISNEY!!!

    Like

    • I’m not sure it would help you… Mine’s a static-prop hilt that I can retrofit with a blade if and when I find the right sort of piping (unmarked polycarbonate thermoplastic, I’m not even sure if that’s a thing) and the right way of molding it.
      I can email a rough outline of what I’ve done so far if you think it would be useful. (Fortunately all the bits I’m using are in Imperial measurements anyway.)

      Like

      • That would help. Mine is supposed to have two handles that would theoretically come apart so you could carry them but then if you align them you’ll have a length of blade in between your hands and then a blade at either end. Alternately you could use the two end blades separately or just use the handles as nunchucks–they’re joined by a leather strap. They’re supposed to look like wood with gears and stuff… I’d like to get them to hum and tick like there’s clockwork in there as well as glowing but I realize that’s not likely to happen any time soon. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

