September TCWT Chain

tcwt-3

Today is September 13, 2015.  I am back in the thick of things at university, and finished filming a TV show, so I should have more time to write now.  We are up to the second of the last six TCWT posts on this blog: I am still using the title and the picture, because, of course, these are still John’s prompts.  If and when anything else gets started (ex-Chain club, anyone?) we’ll have to pick a different name.

But for now, the prompt is: “What are examples of books you’ve thrown across the room?  Why did you throw them?”

In point of fact, I picked on this one because I generally don’t throw books, so I could afford to be exact.

I have thrown:

  • one copy of Kids’ Knits, because I was annoyed at having taken seventeen goes at a cable pattern in blue yarn and still not getting it.  I think I may have thrown the needles and wool after it, and promptly taken up cross-stitch.  (I have since figured out the cable pattern.)
  • one cook-book (my own).  Unfortunately this was spiral-bound and is now missing a few pages, though still in frequent use.
  • one copy of Les Miserables.  This was also unfortunate, as it was my mother’s copy which she had cherished since her student days.  It had been left in the bathroom which I had been sent to clean, and I threw a tiny tantrum at discovering my sister’s entire collection of Barbie dolls lined up along the sink.  Instead of throwing the dolls, I threw the Mis, and the binding broke.  Very slightly.  On one of two volumes.  Hence I cycled into town to try to get another copy.  The staff at the bookstore said they hadn’t got one, whereupon I informed them that they had no business calling themselves a respectable bookstore if they hadn’t got a paperback Mis.  This caused one to be hastily unearthed from a backroom, so I bought it and presented it to my mother, finished cleaning the bathroom, and all was lovely in the garden.  Recently I have also purchased two second-hand copies for myself (one French, one English) so there are now four copies of Les Miserables in the house, should you ever need to borrow one!
  • one copy of Alistair MacLean’s Fear Is The Key – multiple times.  That said, I had rescued this one from a rubbish tip for the sole purpose of throwing it – out of windows, across rooms, and down stairs – stabbing it with letter-openers and Swiss Army Knives, flinging it with gay abandon into the bathtub, reading it in the shower (only once – it’s a rotten book!), giving it to dogs to maul, running over it on a bike, rubbing dirt on the pages, and generally abusing it.  This was largely to deflect said abuse from other books, specifically the ones I was studying for an exam – I couldn’t abuse those, because the copies I had weren’t mine.

As I said, I don’t generally throw books, whether I’m annoyed or not.  I do throw sneakers and sweaters, as unlikely to damage walls, and I have thrown an entire set of teaspoons at once, when I was writing an essay about spoons.  They made a most satisfying noise.

However, when irritated, I often resort to punching brick walls.  Luckily for me, my current room has four of these.

Thanks for reading.  We’ll be back on October 13 with the next of the last.

MTFBWY.

What books have you thrown?  Was it worth it?

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in TCWT Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to September TCWT Chain

  1. sarahtps says:

    I need to read Les Mis . . . or anything Les Mis, really, because people keep raving about it and I’ve never read or watched it or anything.
    Also, that last book . . . my goodness. Does it actually still resemble a book, or is it just a pile of pages at this point?
    I, personally, have never thrown a book . . . even my textbooks I have too much respect for. Plus my sister has to use them after me. I just yell/grump/etc. instead. It works, for me at least . . .

    Like

  2. Ellie says:

    I’m not generally a book-thrower, but I can certainly understand throwing a knitting book—I’ve been tempted to do that more than once. (I haven’t yet, but who knows . . .) And I’ve seriously considered throwing a cookbook more than once.

    I love the idea of having a throwing book. Especially as it would probably save numerous schoolbooks from destruction. But was that poor last book really that bad? I mean, I can’t say I wasn’t tempted to burn The Death Cure or Allegiant, but still . . .

    Here’s my post: http://thespellboundreader.blogspot.com/2015/09/september-tcwt-blog-chain.html

    Like

    • O ye of enormous self-control!
      Alistair MacLean is usually pretty good, but he went off the boil somewhat in Fear Is The Key, and forgot all his usual gidgets like having a female character who doesn’t shriek and faint, and being accurate with how many shots a given gun will fire – and the end reveal was frankly a let-down. (And I didn’t burn it! I destroyed it in numberless other ways, but I didn’t burn it.)

      Like

  3. Oh dear! I forgot entirely about this… Oh well.
    You’re a marvelously terrifying person, Rosalie. I’m sure you’ll go very far in life. 🙂 (I meant that entirely as a compliment, by the way.)
    Found any translation errors in the English Les Mis yet? 😉

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

