The Voice

Okay, so it’s the night of the semifinals of this TV show – this post is scheduled, internet access is dire at the studio – and I’m either eaten up with nerves – and avoiding the temptation to drink, there’s vodka available – or in blackest despair.  Except I’m unlikely to be in despair, not really the Jedi way.  Disappointed, then.

So instead, I’ve put these three songs on my USB – the one I picked because it was the color of Obi-Wan’s lightsaber – and I’m listening to them on a loop to calm down.

I love Moulin Rouge.  I think it’s a brilliant film.  Just sayin’.

First up: El Tango de Roxanne.

This is from the point in the movie when Christian is being absolutely and without exception the most stupid he has ever been, which is saying a lot, but the music is so screamingly awepic I didn’t even notice the first time around.  (Oh – I think The Voice is pretty recognizable in this, but if you don’t, you’re listening for the tenor, okay?)  This song was originally by the Police, but, as usual, I like this version better.

Second: Come What May.  Again.

This is the song that makes or breaks Moulin Rouge as a film, depending on whether you like sappy love-song duets or not.  (For the record: I do.  I totally do.)

Third: The Show Must Go On

This one, originally by Queen, does not involve The Voice, but it’s good for when you need a kick-start into anything.  Or when life sucks.

Thanks – and apologies – and thanks – to the talking real-life muse.  You know who you are.  Lifesaver.

“It’s nights like this I wish I smoked.”  Deep breath.  Center yourself, Padawan.

Thanks for listening.

MTFBWY.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Author's Prerogative and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Voice

  1. Good luck! throws hat into the air and hugs you loans you the Doctor’s dramatic coat Leather or full-length? Got to choose one or the other… 😉

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

