TCWT – Or NOT

Ladies and gentlemen, the TCWT blog – and not just the chain, John doesn’t do things by halves, oh no – is shutting down.

coruscantbookshelf is rather disappointed, largely because she was six months from the end of her time on the chain anyway, and was planning a really big-time serious post for her very last one ever.

However.  Let it not be said that a little niggle like the host’s blog shutting down ever stood in the way of a Blue House scheme.  I’m doing this on my own, or with whoever will join me.  John has asked that any successors to the chain do not fly under the TCWT banner (mixed metaphor?) but we can still do it.

Because I got here late, I’m going to make my last six blog chain posts on my six favorites out of the old prompt list.  These will be published on the thirteenth of each month up to and including February 2016, and one last one on my twentieth birthday.

So here’s the schedule – anyone who cares to can join me on this.

August 2015: prompt from October 2011: “What is the first thing you ever wrote of your own free will?”

September 2015: prompt from January 2012: “What are examples of books you’ve thrown across the room? Why did you throw them?”

October 2015: prompt from May 2012: “Choose your favorite of any of your own characters and conduct a ten-question interview with him or her.”

November 2015: prompt from January 2013:  “Is there one particular book that changed your life? If so, why did you originally choose to read it? What impact has it had on you?”

December 2015: prompt from May 2013: “What are some of the coolest/weirdest/funniest/most disturbing things you’ve researched for a story?”

January 2016: prompt from December 2011: “How do you develop and relate to your characters?”

February 2016: prompt from September 2012: “How much does setting affect your novels and stories? What are some of your favorite ways to portray setting?”

And the very last, February 21, 2016, is based on the prompt from July 2012: “How has writing affected your perception of the world?”  I think that’s a good way of ending.

I’m going to miss all you guys from the TCWT chains – I think that it was top of the list of things that have made the biggest difference to me as a writer.  It was really encouraging to realize that there are other teenagers out there who walk around with a notebook and pen – or at very least with their eyes wide open – and use made-up words in made-up worlds to make sense of the mess we’ve inherited from previous generations.  (I’m not saying everybody sees it as a mess, just that writing is how the TCWT crowd make sense of things in the real world.)

So anyway.  I’ll see you on the thirteenth, whoever cares to show up.

Thanks for reading.

John, thanks – I mean it, really, thank you a googolplex – for keeping the chain going as long as you did.  That was no chain: that was a lifeline.  I wish you best of luck in your writing in future, and every success in whatever path you follow.

MTFBWY all.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in TCWT Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to TCWT – Or NOT

  1. irisbloom5 says:

    Ah! I must! Going to draftcand schedule post now.

    Like

  2. I’ll see what I can do.

    Like

  3. Ellie says:

    Glad to see someone will be continuing the chain–I might join you on a few of these 🙂 I did the July 2012 prompt a couple of months back but the rest are ones I’ve never done, and I need post ideas desperately.

    Like

    • I look forward to seeing you! Technically, I’m not continuing the chain – John’s asked me not to continue it as TCWT – I’m just finishing off the ones I’m allowed to do, and inviting anyone who wants to to join me!

      Like

      • Ellie says:

        Okay, makes sense. I’ll definitely do the August one . . . though I honestly don’t remember the first thing I wrote of my own accord, so that might be a little tough . . .

        Like

  4. Pingback: Not-Quite-Teens-Can-Write-Too: First Thing I Wrote | The Upstairs Archives

  5. writefury says:

    I was planning on joining the TCWT chain, but just as I decided to, it shut down. 😛 So, yeah. I’ll definitely try and do this! 🙂

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

