Sonnet for the Heir

There’s a lot of stuff I don’t write as me.  I usually don’t write essays and laboratory reports as me.  Drives my tutors up the wall, because I have a different writing voice each week.  And I never write poetry as me.  In fact, I’ve only got one character who can write convincing poetry.  I even have to recite it as her, or it doesn’t work.
So here we go again.  This sonnet has a specific subject, and a specific date.

How dared I bear thee forth into the light?
How dared I touch thy innocent, perfect face
With tainted fingers? Now into the night
Pray let me creep, and hide, and find a place
Where I may still annihilate my shame
By self-removal. Woe that I was born!
Alas that there was given me a name
Who namest thee. O, weep and be forlorn.
Let now the tears flow freely from thy eyes.
Both gods and jealous mortals plot our ruin,
And I cannot defend thee. My light shines
More dimly hourly; to my doom I run.
Yet for these few short instants, thou hast been
Mine immortality, my glimpse of heaven.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Original Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sonnet for the Heir

  1. …wow… this is kind of tough…

    Liked by 1 person

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

