Apologia

Okay, time to be brutally honest.

I’ve never been to school in my life, so I’m finding college a little weird. Sitting in a classroom, having a real live teacher standing at the front of the room and teaching; taking tutorials where I can get my questions answered in real time; being assigned homework; having to be in specific places at specific times all day long – this hits me as enormous culture shock. Never mind that little things like the price of bread are still getting me the same way.

Right now my life consists of culture shock, informing my body that it is not allowed to be sick until April, avoiding people on the bus, working out the intricacies of two referencing systems (APA and ACS – why all the faculties on campus can’t use the same system I don’t know) unpacking boxes, and scrambling to get homework done.

Basically this is my way of saying… I’ve got a couple things scheduled here at AtS, but don’t expect to hear from me much… at all… for a few months.

If this is devastating to you (unlikely though that seems), try this for a change. It’s something I’m nominally involved in, that promises regular posts on Mondays and Fridays, and you’ll see me there when it’s my turn to write.

Thanks for bearing with.

MTFBWY.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Author's Prerogative and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Apologia

  1. I am not looking forward to college. sigh

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    wince I hope you keep pushing on through; it’s very easy to see how college can get in the way of our desired blogging schedules. See you when you return!

    Like

  3. Hang in there! It’s going to be tough for a while. Last semester, I had no regular mealtimes. Still don’t, in fact. sigh

    Like

      • That bad, huh? hugs
        Ummm, yeah. I should warn you, Lannis is a hugger. Sometimes. Normally, she respects people’s personal space and maintains her own, but sometimes, if she knows someone, she’ll get overwhelmed by her compassion and go in for a hug. (How would Starlight respond to getting hugged by Lannis, do you think? And would Lannis have an adverse reaction? Being telepathic and empathic, possibly somewhat psychic, the impressions she gets are probably more intense still when there’s physical contact involved. Hmm, that would make for an interesting story… Lannis incapacitated and in a coma after touching the wrong person compassionately. I think I’ll pitch it to the gang and see what they make of it.

        Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

