Thanks, Erin…

Erin was over here being annoying, and she decided to annoy me in the middle of finishing a mystery and planning an novel and writing a story for a friend who moved away and a story for her baby. I am exceedingly put out.

However. These things have rules. As follows: Five facts, five questions answered, five asked, and five nominees. I’ve decided to be cranky and break the fourth rule. I’m flattered, really, but I don’t have five friends I can trust not to bounce this back on me.

Five facts about Rosalie:

1. I really, really hate Black Hawk down. This is the fifth time my brother has come into the room where I’m working and turned it on.

2. I work with an ex-Army guy, a Salvation Army Captain, a very nice lady with very bad bipolar, and a dude who is from Kashmir. Not India, not Pakistan, Kashmir. He is adamant on that point.

3. Carrying on from Erin’s Point 3: Erin has never eaten a decent bratwurst. If she had she’d know the difference.

4. I quite like camping. Gives me an excuse to carry a sheath knife around.

5. I don’t believe any actor should ever be cast in a part which involves using an accent from a continent he or she was not born on. Ever.

Five questions answered:

1. If you had to choose between the Doctor, Sherlock, Merlin, Luke Skywalker, Matthias, Jim Hawkins, and Sir Percy Blakeney to go on an unexpected and otherwise completely unpredictable adventure with, who would you choose?

Hmm. If you mean Matthias Kenobi, and his son (either of the older two) comes with him, then him. If you mean Matthias Maccabee, then him. If you mean Matthias the thirteenth apostle, then him. If, as Iris thinks, you mean Matthias the mouse from Redwall, then definitely Sir Percy Blakeney.

2. Who would you be more likely to say “You’re weird!” (complete with exclamation point) to: Obi-Wan, Anakin, Sherlock, Watson, the Doctor, Merlin, or Halt? (If you would be most likely to say “You’re weird!” to Halt, then you have my undying respect. Either you are very brave, or just plain crazy.)

Hmm again. I’m afraid I don’t know your friend Halt, so that narrows it down. I don’t think Obi-Wan is weird, and I don’t think Sherlock is very weird or Watson weird at all. I only know one Merlin and I wouldn’t dare call him weird, so it must be the Doctor. The Tenth, for preference, as most likely to laugh and not shoot me off into the wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey stuff. (I don’t watch Doctor Who. I have a cousin who does.)

3. Do you wear socks to sleep in? (You’d better bet your fluffy bedsocks you do, young’un, wot?!)

Good god, what planet are you from? Of course not.

4. What is the best plot you’ve ever had that originated in a dream? (Yes, a sleeping dream. Daydreams don’t qualify. Sorry, Sir Percy.)

Originated? Not culminated? None, I’m afraid. I only ever dream dreams that I’ve previously written for other people. I know. There’s an absolute scorcher in the beginning of Valentine and I had it for weeks.

5. Have you ever been to Boston in the fall?

Personally, I’m inclined to blame Raya for this question. You must be taking the babysitting duties seriously, old pal. And no, I haven’t. I have in fact never been on the American continent at all. Plan to remedy that in January, though.

Five questions of my own: These are to nobody in particular, just whoever happens to be interested and cares to answer in the comments.

1. What is your least favorite film that you have seen? Walking out halfway does not count.

2. If you had to have one of the following people walk into the local grocery shop/store where you happened to be, and recognize you, which would you find least embarrassing: Captain America, Nightwing, Qui-Gon Jinn, Dr. Edward Rolles Weston, Aslan (is he a person?),  or Vesper Lynd?

3. What is your most annoying habit? (To people around you, not to yourself.)

4. If you had to pick one composer’s work to listen to for the rest of your life, forsaking all others, who would you pick?

5. Rudyard Kipling, H. Rider Haggard, or Baroness Orczy?

Right. That’s me done. Thanks a bundle, Erin, and now may I get back to finishing Breaking Point?

Thanks for reading.

MTFBW everybody except VJ. Or him too if he decides to recant.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Author's Prerogative. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Thanks, Erin…

  1. irisbloom5 says:

    Excellent answers! I suppose I need to go answer them myself now…
    Does that mean you don’t want me to double nominate you and make you do this again?
    smiles innocently

    Like

  2. My dad always did say that you can’t find real bratwurst in the States… Having been in Germany, he should know.
    YOU HAVE A SHEATH KNIFE!!?! Lucky you! I wish I did!!!
    I wear socks to sleep in… occasionally. Normally in winter. Or if I have dry feet and absolutely need to keep the Eucerin cream on them… Ouch. My right heel cracked a few weeks ago. That was painful.
    No, actually I do like the song. Garen and I sing it all the time, and occasionally (only after Siri press-gangs him, normally) Obi-Wan joins in. 😛 Personally, I think it’s cute.
    Least favorite film… let’s see. I think that would have to be either “Who Framed Roger Rabbit” as stated heretofore, or if we’re coming at it from a purely plot standpoint, the one episode of the Clone Wars, “Supply Lines,” with a Jedi who looked awesome but who really did not actually do anything… or Tangled, if we’re talking about my annoyance with evil Gothel who could have been better written and needed a cooler motivation than just eternal life. Seriously, she is so not… not original. At all. And they didn’t make her an actual witch, even. Just a manipulative bog-witch. Also, the moral arc of the story was flawed.
    Qui-Gon. Definitely Qui-Gon… because… Aslan? That would be terrifying.
    Yes, you may go back to your life now. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • An Afrikaans friend got so sick of the terrible sausage in the stores he started making his own. Is excellent.
      Yes I have a sheath knife. Picked up the knife at the local tip – literally. Somebody was throwing it away. Made the sheath last week out of an old boot and some rivets I begged from the shoe-repair man in town.
      And thank you very much.

      Like

      • That is so cool! I wish I could do leatherworking, but all Mom’s tools have mysteriously gone missing or are scattered around the house, and I have not been able to find leather in simple sheets at all. I’ve had to resort to making costume belts from shudders vinyl. Grrr. I really wish I could make them from genuine leather. All I can seem to find is pre-cut pieces from craft kits! And craft kits are fine for starters, but I’d like to blaze my own way, thank you very much.

        Like

  3. irisbloom5 says:

    Qui-Gon. Definitely Qui-Gon.
    That I’ve seen? I really hope my Dad doesn’t see this but… Airplane. Definitely “Airplane”. I respect the writers/directors genius, but can’t stand their humor.
    Ummm… Erin? What is my most annoying habit?
    I would probably guess my inability to stop “explaining” why this one thing is annoying/awesome/obnoxious.

    Like

  4. Huff-Hum to you madam! I love carrying knives around. You know I have the most wicked collection ever.

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

