The Ethical Editor

It was ANZAC Day yesterday, so I was in London for the service at Westminster Abbey, being the good Kiwi I am. One of the hymns was I Vow To Thee My Country, which I have had theological objections to for some time, mostly on account of its making the vow to an earthly kingdom rather than the heavenly one. So I sang it with my fingers crossed, but since then have come up with an edited version I can sing with my full heart and gusto besides. If only I can avoid breaking up on the high notes.

You can find the regular lyrics here, but below is the coruscantbookshelf patented version: slightly less patriotic, slightly more Christian, hopefully seamless.

I vow to thee, my country, all other vows above,
Entire and whole and perfect, the service of my love:
The love that asks no question, the love that stands the test,
That lays upon the altar the dearest and the best;
The love that never falters, the love that pays the price,
The love that makes undaunted the final sacrifice.

I know thou art my country, my land since long ago,
Most dear to us that love thee, most great to us that know;
We may not count thy armies, we may not see thy King;
Thy temple is a faithful heart, thy glory suffering;
And soul by soul and silently thy shining bounds increase,
And thy ways are ways of gentleness, and all thy paths are peace.

Anyway. That’s me on a combination of Thornton’s chocolates (second-best in the world), Force euphoria, and the after-effects of a massive ethical debate between two of my favorite characters to work with.

About coruscantbookshelf

"A writer is an introvert: someone who wants to tell you a story but doesn't want to have to make eye contact while doing it." - Adapted from John Green
This entry was posted in Author's Prerogative and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ethical Editor

  1. Ehh… we’re not entirely sane all the time either. You’ll get used to it. ;-P
    In other news, I am thinking of adding another section to the Archives… basically the story of how the Archives came to be, how I came to work on those stories, etc. It will feature characters from all my works and from some different fandoms, such as BBC’s Merlin, Redwall, Lord of the Rings, and Star Wars. What say you?

    Like

Loved it, hated it, just want to express yourself...? Why not try out this handy comments box right here.

